Skip to content

Feeling Beachy

May 13, 2012

Homeschooling is the one choice our family has made that most defines us.  Don’t get me wrong.  We do LOTS of things that some might consider weird.  But the one thing that is most misunderstood is our homeschooling lifestyle.  Even when we opened our lives and our home for an article about homeschooling, we learned that it is really hard to get folks to understand.  While the writer did have some measure of understanding about us and our choices and was gracious and respectful of our choices, I think that the editors perceived us as equivalent to a family that lives on Mars.  This is no surprise because no matter how hard I try, I find that it’s hard to get people who don’t live it to understand what homeschooling really means for our lives.

One of the things that I wish I could capture is the pleasure we have in choosing to do what we want when we want.  For example, last week, we ditched regularly scheduled plans and headed to the beach for one of the lowest tides of the year.  Not only was this fun (and blissfully sunny!), but it was educational.  I can check off science, physical education, and social time for the same afternoon.  And it was so much better than sitting in a classroom – or even sitting at the proverbial homeschooler’s kitchen table.  It is probably my favorite thing about homeschooling and a reason that I am grateful for the privilege of homeschooling my kids.

Sunny spring day!  A blessing for sure.

We watched a heron fishing.

We fostered compassion for those who are smaller (and anxious about stepping on slippery seaweed and rocks).

We saw a sea pen….

…and nudibranchs….

….lots of gapers…..

….poor worried crabs trying to hide from us….

…moon snails….

….lots of sea stars….

….friends…

…and some things which we are yet to identify.

It was certainly a day that reminded me how grateful I am for the privilege of homeschooling.

P.S.  If you are looking for resources so you can identify all of the fun things you see at low tide in the Pacific Northwest, here’s our favorite guide:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2012 9:52 pm

    I thought about home shooling too! I think different compare to most people and don’t like the fact that normal school teach children to be the same as everybody. The thing that stopped me was the fact that I am not an organised person and have trouble to schedule myself. I would have needed some kind of guidance at least at first until I would have felt confident enough. So you have all my admiration for making the choice and making it work!

    • May 14, 2012 10:50 pm

      I do have a lot of support for homeschooling in my community, which helps a lot with the organization and whatnot. Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

